fly fish aus banner

National President
Fly Fish Australia Inc.
GPO Box 2255

6 February 2018

General Circular #2-2018 - Team Announcements


1. Announcement of 2019 World Team

2. EOI Captains and Managers 2019/20 World Team

3. 2018 World Team

4. 2018 Commonwealth Team

5. 2019 Oceania Championships

6. Disciplinary Action by Board

Dear FFA Members

Following is an update on current issues addressed by the Board over the past month.

1. Announcement of 2019 World Team (Tasmania 30 Nov – 8 Dec 2019)

It is with the greatest of pleasure that the Board announces the selection of members of the 2019 World Team to represent Australia in Tasmania:

Christopher Bassano (TAS)

Tom Jarman (VIC)

Jonathan Stagg (TAS)

Joshua Flowers (TAS)

Mark Bulley (NSW)

Res: Tim Strong (TAS)

Captain and Manager yet to be appointed.

Congratulations to all those members for their hard work and dedication. We wish them all every success.

The web address for the World Championships is:

2. Expressions Of Interest - Captains and Managers 2019/20 World Team

Due to some delays with getting the EOI info onto the website the EOI period has been extended to 14 February 2018. Anyone who is interested please refer to the EOI document on the website.

3. 2018 World Team (Italy – 17-23 September 2018)

Due to suspension of a member of the selected team the replacement process means that David Hemphill (NSW) will now represent in the 2018 World Team to compete in Italy later this year. Congratulations David. The team is:

Josh Flowers (TAS)

Tim Strong (TAS)

Tom Jarman (VIC)

Glenn Eggleton (TAS)

David Hemphill (NSW)

Captain: Royce Baxter (VIC) (Reserve Angler)

Manager: John Cummins (NSW)

4. 2018 Commonwealth Teams (Northern Ireland – 5-12 September 2018)

As a result of the change to the 2018 world team and withdrawal of another member the two replacement members to the Commonwealth teams are Craig Dawson (NSW) and Stephen Chatterton (NSW). Congratulations Craig and Stephen. The teams are:

Tim Urbanc (TAS)

Janis Kruska (VIC)

Craig Shipton (TAS)

Grant Flowers (TAS)

Bob Bartels (NSW)

John Fisher (NSW)

Craig Coltman (VIC)

Doug Mosenthal (TAS)

Craig Dawson (NSW)

Stephen Chatterton (NSW)

Captain: Craig Coltmann (VIC)

Manager: Mark Youngman (TAS) (Reserve Angler)

5. 2019 Oceania Championships

As previously advised FFA is still in discussion with Sports Fly Fish New Zealand regarding the conduct of the Oceania Championships. Both organisations are assessing the logistics of conducting this event due to the impact of the 2019 World Championships (Aus) and the 2020 Commonwealth Championships (NZ).

6. Disciplinary Action by Board – Suspension of Member

As a result of an incident following the Nationals presentation dinner in Miena the Board undertook a disciplinary investigation into the conduct of one of our members in accord with the constitution. Having followed due process the Board resolved to suspend the membership of the member for a period of 12 months. The consequences of this were that the member lost all accrued ranking points plus the opportunity to represent Australia in two world championship events and is precluded from all FFA competitions for the period of the suspension. The incident involved excessive alcohol consumption and subsequent disrespectful behaviour that simply does not fit with our organisation and the simple rules of decency.

This has been an incredibly time consuming exercise for our Board and has not been a pleasant exercise for anyone involved. However the Board is absolutely resolute in its position to ensure this does not happen again.

This matter is now behind us and I know we all look forward to great things for FFA. There are many positives about our organisation and our members. So many of our members working hard behind the scenes to organise competitions, present skills development sessions, establish youth development programs, encourage greater participation of women in our sport, organise world championships – the list goes on.


The email contact details for the principal office bearers of FFA are:

President - Rob Staples This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Secretary - Casey Mattson This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Treasurer - Jason Garrett Jnr This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Sponsorship and Media - Mel Dawson This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Enjoy your fishing and your friendships – that is what our organisation and our sport is all about.

Rob Staples
Fly Fish Australia Inc.
Mob: 0408 674 656

Copyright © 2018 Fly Fish Australia NSW & ACT, All rights reserved.
Membership renewals 30 September 2017

Our mailing address is:
Fly Fish Australia NSW & ACT
GPO 2255
Canberra, ACT 2201

Go to top
JSN Boot template designed by